Illustrator Spot: Tina Berning

One of my favourite illustrators is Tina Berning. She is based in Berlin, Germany, and focuses on the female body and fashion. Having been a graphic designer for several years she decided to turn to illustration in 2000 and has had many big clients (like Vanity Fair, Vogue & New York Times) since then. Her preferred media is ink on used or old paper, with dashes of (what looks like gouache and watercolour) paint.

What I love about her work is the unfinished, raw quality of her pictures. They have a sense of mystery to them. When I look at her illustrations (like the picture below), they always make me wonder about her subjects: Who are they? Where did she draw them? What was her intention behind it?

I also love her juxtaposition of neat and messy, smooth lines and uncontrolled lines. She is genius when it comes to drawing faces! All her faces are similar but
different in so many ways! When she paints faces in ink, she only paints the vague angles, but you can still make out the whole face, like the picture above for example, she’s left out the face of the young boy on the right and the man in the middle, but somehow you can still imagine what they look like! The way she uses ink is also very impressive. She uses non-waterproof ink and by my past experiences with ink I can attest that it is not easy to manipulate with water, it has a mind of its own and chooses where it wants to flow, but Tina manages to have such control of large areas of ink diluted down with water (first image right is a perfect example of what I mean!).

I adore her illustrations! She has such a unique style and her unfinished drawings always leave me with a sense of intrigue after seeing them. Anyone interested in seeing more of her work should check out her book 100 Girls on Cheap Paper.

One response to “Illustrator Spot: Tina Berning

Leave a comment